Additional Fees and Regulations
A $25.00 hazardous fee per order delivered is charged by the shipping company and will be added to the $12.50 shipping charge. Below is an example if your order consisted only of one item, and that item has a considered hazardous fee:
FFL (Federal Firearms License) required purchases have an additional $10.00 processing fee.
Receivers, actions, and frame sales require an FFL and are only allowed with the strictest adherence to federal regulations. Such orders will be held at Brownells until we verify your FFL is on file.
FFL requirements are as follows:
- It must be a current, certified-copy with an original signature in ink!
- If it has been changed or altered in any way it will be considered invalid.
- FFL purchases will only be sent to the address on the FFL - no exceptions.
- We will keep your FFL on file until it expires, at which time you will need to send Brownells a renewed, certified copy.
Brownells, Inc. collects sales tax according to Federal, State, and Local government guidelines. Tax is calculated based on the shipping address and the appropriate rules for the address where your order is billed or shipped.
Brownells, Inc. collects sales tax on the following states:
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
If you are shipping to any of these states, we try to estimate the amount of tax you'll pay as you're placing the order. Many factors can change between the time you place your order and when your order ships. This can result in your estimated tax being different from the sales tax collected at checkout.
For tax-exempt customers located in or shipping to any of the states mentioned above, Brownells, Inc. must have a copy of your Sales/Use Tax Exemption Certificate Form on file before you place your order as we are required by law to collect sales tax at the rate effective at the time the order is processed. We are unable to refund sales tax collected on sales prior to receiving the signed Exemption Certificate.
If you're a tax-exempt business please call 1-800-741-0015 for assistance.
To submit your Tax Exemption Certificate, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.